Matcha almond waffles: a birthday offering

Last week it was my dad’s 60th birthday. Holy moly, 60 freaking years old! Sometimes I kid around with him about him being an old geezer, but one day it seems I just looked at him and realized he had gray hair. Like what the heck happened?! Once it made me cry randomly on a weekday afternoon just thinking about all that gray hair. I know, I’m the strangest.

My dad is a quiet man. He is intelligent and humble, an inspiration for me to work hard to be a great doctor (ps he’s a doctor). He is the equal counterweight to my mom, the social butterfly. While shy and not very good at small talk, I think my dad has a kind face that allows his patients and friends to inherently trust him. He may be the reason why I will always prefer nice, nerdy guys with kind faces over all others. He drove up to visit last week and I baked up a batch of matcha waffles, because his next dream vaca is Japan and also because he likes green things: vegetables, golf course greens, the green of Kentucky that convinced him to move his family here. Below are my ingredients, loosely adapted from this recipe. Mix together all the ingredients, ladle into your preferred waffle maker, and serve warm. Coffee is never optional. Hug or call your dad if you haven’t in awhile. If noticing his gray hairs and pondering the brevity of life haven’t reduced you to tears on a random afternoon yet, they will.

Matcha Almond Waffles

1.5 cups all-purpose flour
2 tsp baking powder
0.5 tsp baking soda
2 tbsp ground matcha powder (I have this brand)
2 tbsp cinnamon
0.5 cup of roughly chopped almonds
2 large eggs
0.25 cup of raw local honey
1 tbsp vanilla
2 tbsp melted coconut oil
1 cup almond milk (I’m obsessed w/ the Califia Farms vanilla)

Leave a Reply

